Who We Are

The project is initially raised by the Societat Catalana de Biologia (SCB) and is developed jointly with the Institució Catalana d’Història Natural (ICHN), both subsidiaries of the Institut d’Estudis Catalans (IEC).

It currently serves as the umbrella for a wide network of expertise that extends throughout the territory and involves the collaboration of institutions, institutes and research centres, museums, zoos, botanical gardens, societies and expert entities in the knowledge and study of species, as well as powerful technological infrastructures for genomic sequencing and computing.

Therefore, the CBP is a collaborative project that has the support and direct participation of more than 20 centres throughout the Catalan-speaking territory, including Catalonia, the Valencian Country, the Balearic Islands, Andorra and Banyuls-sur-Mer (France).

CBP is a project affiliated with the Earth BioGenome Project (EBP), an international network of networks that aims to characterize, catalogue, and sequence the genomes of all Earth’s eukaryotic species.


CBP is also a project associated with the European Reference Genome Atlas (ERGA), a European initiative to create an atlas of Europe’s biodiversity genome. We work in close coordination and collaboration with ERGA-ES (ERGA-Spain), ERGA-FR (ERGA-France) and especially with ERGA-Andorra.



Working groups

CBP activity is presented and discussed at monthly meetings of all members and is structured into three working groups (WGs):


WG 1
Funding and outreach

WG 2
Sampling and storage


WG 3
Sequencing, assembly and analysis

Steering commitee
  • Miquel Angel Arnedo (IRBio, UB)
  • Jordina Belmonte (ICTA, UAB, ICHN)
  • Montserrat Corominas (UB, SCB, IEC) – Chair
  • Hèctor Escrivà (Laboratoire Arago, Banyuls)
  • Toni Gabaldón (BSC-CNS, IRB)
  • Teresa Garnatje (IBB, CSIC)
  • Josep Germain (ICHN)
  • Roderic Guigó (CRG, UPF, IEC)
  • Mónica Bayés (CNAG)
  • Tomàs Marquès Bonet (IBE, CSIC, UPF) – Co-chair
  • Rosa Fernàndez (IBE, CSIC, UPF)
  • Manel Niell (ARI, Andorra)
  • Ferran Palero (ICBIBE, UV)
  • Joan Pons (IMEDEA, CSIC-UIB)
  • Pere Puigdomènech (CRAG, IEC)